For Immediate Release

Organization Profile: 

David Card 202-785-5980  

Republicans Ignore the Needs of Working Americans Obstructing Economic Stimulus and the Need for Job Creation

WASHINGTON - Americans for Democratic Action expressed outrage today in response to the 64 Republicans who supported hundreds of billions in bailout money for big business and Wall Street, but voted last night against helping average working Americans.


Last night House Democrats passed the Economic Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. Not one Republican supported the bill despite an intensive effort by President Obama to address their concerns.


ADA National Director Amy Isaacs said: "Republican obstructionists are shirking responsibility for the mess they created. After years of mismanaging the economy, ignoring the needs of low and middle income working Americans, last night they simply said, ‘not our problem.' Clearly they did not hear the message Americans sent on Election Day in November."


The following Republicans voted for the $700 billion Wall Street bailout in December, but chose last night not to give working people a tax cut, address massive job losses or provide the stimulus needed to jump start the economy.


Rodney Alexander LA-5

Spencer Bachus AL-6

J. Gresham Barrett SC-3

Judith Biggert IL-13

Roy Blunt MO-7

John Boehner OH-8

Jo Bonner AL-1

Mary Bono CA-45

John Boozman AR-3

Charles Boustany LA-7

Kevin Brady TX-8

Henry Brown SC-1

Vern Buchanan FL-13

Ken Calvert CA-44

Dave Camp MI-4

John Campbell CA-48

Eric Cantor VA-7

Michael Castle DE-AL

Howard Coble NC-6

Tom Cole OK-4

Michael Conaway TX-11

Ander Crenshaw FL-4

Charles Dent PA-15

David Dreier CA-26

Vernon Ehlers M-I3

Jo Ann Emerson MO-8

Mary Fallin OK-5

Rodney Frelinghuysen NJ-11

Jim Gerlach PA-6

Kay Granger TX-12

Wally Herger CA-2

Peter Hoekstra MI-2

Bob Inglis SC-4

Peter King NY-3

Mark Kirk IL-10

John Kline MN-2

Jerry Lewis CA-41

Daniel Lungren CA-3

John McHugh NY-23

Buck McKeon CA-25

Gary Miller CA-42

Sue Myrick NC-9

Adam Putnam FL-12

George Radanovich CA-19

Hal Rogers KY-5

Mike Rogers AL-3

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen FL-18

Paul Ryan WI-1

Jean Schmidt OH-2

Pete Sessions TX-32

John Shadegg AZ-3

Bill Shuster PA-9

Michael Simpson ID-2

Lamar Smith TX-21

Mark Souder IN-3

John Sullivan OK-1

Lee Terry NE-2

Mac Thornberry TX-13

Pat Tiberi OH-12

Fred Upton MI-6

Greg Walden OR-2

Zachary Wamp TN-3

Joe Wilson SC-2

Frank Wolf VA-10



FRIENDS: Now More Than Ever

Independent journalism has become the last firewall against government and corporate lies. Yet, with frightening regularity, independent media sources are losing funding, closing down or being blacked out by Google and Facebook. Never before has independent media been more endangered. If you believe in Common Dreams, if you believe in people-powered independent media, please support us now and help us fight—with truths—against the lies that would smother our democracy. Please help keep Common Dreams alive and growing. Thank you. -- Craig Brown, Co-founder

Support Common DreamsSupport Common Dreams

ADA is America's most experienced independent liberal lobbying organization. In the spirit of the New Deal and ADA founders Eleanor Roosevelt, renowned economist John Kenneth Galbraith, and former Senator and Vice President Hubert Humphrey we lobby through coalition partnerships, through direct advocacy, and through the media.

Share This Article

More in: