For Immediate Release


President Obama to Attend International Climate Summit in Copenhagen

WASHINGTON - The White House announced today that President Obama will travel to
Copenhagen on December  9 to participate in the United Nations climate
change summit. His presence will help the international community as it
works toward a comprehensive and effective agreement to reduce global
warming pollution, according to policy experts at the Natural Resources
Defense Council.

Following is a statement by Frances Beinecke, President of NRDC:

Obama is taking the full power and prestige of the highest office in
the land to Copenhagen. He goes with a serious climate
protection proposal from the United States that shows we mean business.
It shows we're ready to lead. And it will help advance efforts to
secure commitments for action from other countries around the world. We
urge Congress to support the President and pass clean energy and
climate protection legislation that will put millions of Americans back
to work, reduce our reliance on foreign oil and create a healthier
future for our country and the world."


FRIENDS: Now More Than Ever

Independent journalism has become the last firewall against government and corporate lies. Yet, with frightening regularity, independent media sources are losing funding, closing down or being blacked out by Google and Facebook. Never before has independent media been more endangered. If you believe in Common Dreams, if you believe in people-powered independent media, please support us now and help us fight—with truths—against the lies that would smother our democracy. Please help keep Common Dreams alive and growing. Thank you. -- Craig Brown, Co-founder

Support Common DreamsSupport Common Dreams

The Natural Resources Defense Council is a national, nonprofit organization of scientists, lawyers and environmental specialists dedicated to protecting public health and the environment. Founded in 1970, NRDC has 1.2 million members and online activists, served from offices in New York, Washington, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Beijing.

Share This Article

More in: