For Immediate Release

Organization Profile: 

Rachel Vincent
Manager, Media & Communications
Mobile: +1.613.276.9030
Phone: +1.613.569.8400
Fax: +1.613.691.1419

Kimberley MacKenzie
Coordinator, Online Media & Outreach
Phone: +1.613.569.8400 x 114
Fax: +1.613.691.1419

Nobel Laureates: Respect Guatemalan Genocide Survivors!

WASHINGTON - Five women Nobel Peace Prize Laureates called on Guatemala today to respect the rights of survivors who suffered atrocities at the hands of the military dictatorship of former de facto head of state Efraín Ríos Montt.

Their statement follows on the heels of a recent turn of events in Guatemala, where on May 10, 2013, Ríos Montt was convicted for genocide and crimes against humanity. Ten days later the Constitutional Court overturned the conviction. The Court re-affirmed their decision on May 29, 2013 and has been unclear as to when, or if, the trial will resume.

This decision comes as a serious blow to survivors of the Guatemalan genocide, who testified during the trial to mass human rights violations including sexual violence, torture and killings suffered during the rule of Ríos Montt’s government. “Thirty years after the crimes, indigenous victims of the most terrible crimes recounted their experiences in a court of law,” said Nobel Laureate Rigoberta Menchú Tum in the statement. “Guatemala must not again victimize these communities.”

View and download the full English statement here. Descargar aquí en español.



Our Summer Campaign Is Underway

Support Common Dreams Today

Independent News and Views Putting People Over Profit

Rios Montt Convicted of genocide!, Nobel Women’s Initiative, 16 May 2013.

Menchu Tum releases open letter on impunity in Guatemala, Nobel Women’s Initiative, 24 May 2013.

Ríos Montt Genocide Verdict Annulled, But Activists Ensure US-Backed Crimes Will Never Be Forgotten, Democracy Now!, 23 May 2013.


Join the Guatemala Human Rights Commission/USA in asking the Constitutional Court to take action to defend the rule of law and ensure the trial continues.


This is the world we live in. This is the world we cover.

Because of people like you, another world is possible. There are many battles to be won, but we will battle them together—all of us. Common Dreams is not your normal news site. We don't survive on clicks. We don't want advertising dollars. We want the world to be a better place. But we can't do it alone. It doesn't work that way. We need you. If you can help today—because every gift of every size matters—please do. Without Your Support We Won't Exist.

Please select a donation method:

The Nobel Women's Initiative was established in 2006 by sister Nobel Peace Laureates Jody Williams, Shirin Ebadi, Wangari Maathai, Rigoberta Menchu Tum, Betty Williams and Mairead Maguire. We six women - representing North and South America, Europe, the Middle East and Africa - have decided to bring together our extraordinary experiences in a united effort for peace with justice and equality.

Share This Article