For Immediate Release


Inga Sarda-Sorensen Director of Communications
(Office) 646.358.1463
(Cell) 202.641.5592
ICS media contact:
Nicole Murray-Ramirez
San Diego City Commissioner
(Phone) 619.692.1967

Recognizing Outstanding Transgender and Gender-Nonconforming Individuals in the Struggle for LGBT Equality

WASHINGTON - In honor of the 40th anniversary of Stonewall, the International
Court System, in collaboration with the National Gay and Lesbian Task
Force, is recognizing 40 transgender and gender- nonconforming
individuals for their contribution toward lesbian, gay, bisexual and
transgender (LGBT) equality.

To mark this occasion, the International Court System is showcasing these "40 Trans Heroes" on its Web site at
to highlight the importance of the transgender and gender-nonconforming
community as an equal and important part of the broader LGBT community.
The "40 Trans Heroes" were solicited and selected from hundreds of
nominations by a special committee of the International Court Council.

"This is by no means a complete list or a 'best of' or 'top 10'
list. It is merely a beginning tribute to the thousands of transgender
and gender-nonconforming individuals that have made our modern-day
movement possible," says Thom Hansen, president of the International
Court Council. "This momentous tribute to the transgender community is
a long time coming. The International Court System is honored to
partner with the Task Force. Together, we pay tribute to those whose
lives and works have impacted each and every one of us."

"On the 40th anniversary of the Stonewall riots, let's remember the
legacy of those who started our struggle for equality and liberation,"
says Rea Carey, executive director of the National Gay and Lesbian Task
Force. "Recognizing 40 of the many transgender and gender-nonconforming
individuals who have worked tirelessly and passionately in favor of
full LGBT equality throughout these four decades is a reminder of the
determination and persistence of the transgender community and of the
human spirit. Let's continue to honor these important contributions
toward a more just and equal society for all of us."


Never Miss a Beat.

Get our best delivered to your inbox.

The International Court System will present a commemorative plaque
inscribed with the names of these outstanding individuals on June 25 to
be placed at the Stonewall Inn.

For more information about the International Court System and "Stonewall 40 - 40 Trans Heroes," please visit

"40 Trans Heroes"

Sylvia Rivera, Shannon Price Minter, Mara Keisling,
Jose Julio Sarria, Ru Paul, Marsha Botzer, Nicole Murray-Ramirez,
Norma Kristie, Masen Davis, Melissa Sklarz, Lady Bunny, Leslie
Gunner Scott, Lynn Conway, Chi Chi LaRue, Marsha P. Johnson, Riki
Barbra Casbar Siperstein, Yosenio Lewis, Robin Tyler, Coco LaChine,
Valerie Spencer, Jim Flynn, Nancy Nangeroni, Lady Chablis, Rosalinda
dela Luna, Cecilia Chung, Loren Cameron, Maria Roman, Theresa Sparks,
Karina Samala,
Grace Sterling Stowell, Donna Sachet, Shirley Bushnell, Cole Thaler,
Darcell, Jamison Green, Sister Roma, Billy deFrank, Frank Marino.

To learn more about the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, follow us on Twitter: @TheTaskForce.


Our pandemic coverage is free to all. As is all of our reporting.

No paywalls. No advertising. No corporate sponsors. Since the coronavirus pandemic broke out, traffic to the Common Dreams website has gone through the roof— at times overwhelming and crashing our servers. Common Dreams is a news outlet for everyone and that’s why we have never made our readers pay for the news and never will. But if you can, please support our essential reporting today. Without Your Support We Won't Exist.

Please select a donation method:

The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force builds the political power of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community from the ground up. We do this by training activists, organizing broad-based campaigns to defeat anti-LGBT referenda and advance pro-LGBT legislation, building the organizational capacity of our movement and generating groundbreaking research through our Policy Institute.

Share This Article

More in: