For Immediate Release

Center Unveils Finalists for Daniel Pearl Award for Outstanding International Investigative Reporting

WASHINGTON -  The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists
is proud to announce the finalists for the first Daniel Pearl Award for
Outstanding International Investigative Reporting. Formerly the ICIJ
Award, the prize was renamed this year after Wall Street Journal reporter Daniel Pearl, who was slain by Pakistani militants in 2002.
award is unique among journalism prizes in that it was created
specifically to honor cross-border investigative reporting. It is
presented by the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists,
a project of the Center for Public Integrity in Washington, D.C.
year's biennial competition attracted an impressive 86 entries from 24
countries, involving reporting in more than 60 countries during 2006
and 2007.A panel of five international judges selected the following seven entries as finalists:

  • Michael Kranish, Peter S. Canellos, Farah Stockman, Kevin Baron, Susan Milligan, Rick Klein, and Charlie Savage of The Boston Globe for their series "Exporting Faith."  
  • Walt Bogdanich and Jake Hooker of The New York Times for their series "A Toxic Pipeline." 
  • Joachim Dyfvermark and Fredrik Laurin for their TV4 Sweden investigation "The Illegal Cod." 
  • Loretta Tofani for her Salt Lake Tribune series "American Imports, Chinese Deaths." 
  • Andrew O. Selsky of The Associated Press for "Guantanamo Detainees."  
  • Sven Bergman, Joachim Dyfvermark, and Fredrik Laurin for their SVT -Swedish Television investigation "Gripen - the Secret Deals."  
  • Gregory L. White, David Crawford, Glenn R. Simpson, Alan Cullison, and James Bandler of The Wall Street Journal for their investigation "Putin's Russia."

will be winning entries in two categories - one American and one
international - which will each receive U.S. $10,000. The five
remaining finalist entries will each receive U.S. $1,000. The winners
will be announced September 13 at the Global Investigative Journalism Conference in Lillehammer, Norway.
Selections were made by a distinguished international panel of judges:

  • Sheila
    Coronel, director, Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism,
    Columbia University; co-founder and former executive director of the
    Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism, where she oversaw
    publication of nearly two dozen books and over 200 articles in major
  • Sunday Dare, former general editor of two Nigerian newsmagazines, The News and Tempo; author, From the Newsroom to Underground: The Story of Guerrilla Journalism in Nigeria and Africa; currently Hausa Service director, Voice of America. 
  • Douglas Farah, consultant; former Washington Post foreign correspondent in West Africa and Latin America; author, Merchant of Death (on Viktor Bout) and Blood from Stones (on terrorism finance).  
  • Fernando Rodriguez, senior reporter for the Brazilian daily Folha de S.Paulo;
    former foreign correspondent in New York, Tokyo, and Washington,
    D.C.; winner, Prêmio Esso de Jornalismo, Brazil's top journalism prize;
    author, The Owners of the Congress.  
  • David E. Kaplan, director, International Consortium of Investigative Journalists; former chief investigative correspondent, U.S. News & World Report; author, Yakuza: Japan's Criminal Underworld and Fires of the Dragon.

This is the world we live in. This is the world we cover.

Because of people like you, another world is possible. There are many battles to be won, but we will battle them together—all of us. Common Dreams is not your normal news site. We don't survive on clicks. We don't want advertising dollars. We want the world to be a better place. But we can't do it alone. It doesn't work that way. We need you. If you can help today—because every gift of every size matters—please do. Without Your Support We Simply Don't Exist.

Please select a donation method:

The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) was launched in 1997 as a project of the Center for Public Integrity to globally extend the Center's investigative style of journalism in the public interest. ICIJ's global network includes nearly 100 of the world's top investigative reporters who produce collaborative, cross-border reports on major global issues around the world.

The Center for Public Integrity is a nonprofit, nonpartisan independent Washington, D.C.-based organization that does investigative reporting and research on significant public issues. Since 1990, the Center has released more than 400 investigative reports and 17 books. It has received the prestigious George Polk Award and more than 22 other national journalism awards and 16 finalist nominations from national organizations, including PEN USA and Investigative Reporters and Editors. In April 2006, the Society of Professional Journalists recognized the Center with a national award for excellence in online public service journalism for the fifth consecutive year. In October 2006, the Center was honored with the Online News Association's coveted General Excellence Award. In March 2007, the Center was given a special citation for the body of its investigative work from the Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government.

Share This Article

More in: