Senate Confirms New FCC Commissioners Pai and Rosenworcel


For Immediate Release

Organization Profile: 

Jenn Ettinger, 202-265-1490 x 35

Senate Confirms New FCC Commissioners Pai and Rosenworcel

WASHINGTON - On Monday, the Senate confirmed Ajit Pai and Jessica Rosenworcel as the newest members of the Federal Communications Commission.

Free Press President and CEO Craig Aaron made the following statement:

“We’re pleased that the long delay in the Senate is over, and that we will have five commissioners at the FCC once more. Both Ajit Pai and Jessica Rosenworcel are extremely knowledgeable policy experts and well qualified for their new positions. We congratulate the new commissioners on their confirmations, and we look forward to working with both of them in the very near future.

"We hope the FCC's newest members will focus first and foremost on promoting the public interest. The decisions the FCC makes in the next few years will determine the shape of our media system for a generation. Thanks to undue industry influence at places like the FCC, many people have lost faith in public institutions. The public needs champions at the FCC. We hope the newest commissioners will use both the bully pulpit and their votes to ensure that media and technology benefit the vast majority of Americans and not just a few powerful moguls."


Free Press is a national, nonpartisan organization working to reform the media. Through education, organizing and advocacy, we promote diverse and independent media ownership, strong public media, and universal access to communications. Learn more at

Share This Article

More in: