For Immediate Release

CREW Releases Fourth Annual Most Corrupt Members of Congress Report

WASHINGTON - Today, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW)
released its fourth annual report on the most corrupt members of

CREW's Most Corrupt Members of Congress
provides a detailed analysis of the unethical and sometimes illegal
activities of 24 congressmen and women who have most egregiously
betrayed the public's trust.

CREW also has launched the report's tandem website,,
which offers short summaries of each member's transgressions as well as
the full-length profiles and all accompanying exhibits.

New to this year's study are Reps. Marsha Blackburn, Vern Buchanan,
Vito Fossella, Dan Lipinski, Charlie Rangel, Laura Richardson and Mike
Turner, and Sens. Mary Landrieu and Norm Coleman.

Of this year's list of 24, at least 12 are under investigation: Ken
Calvert, John Doolittle, Tom Feeney, Vito Fossella, William Jefferson,
Jerry Lewis, Alan Mollohan, Gary Miller, Tim Murphy, Rick Renzi, Don
Young and Ted Stevens. One other, Charlie Rangel, is under a
self-initiated House ethics committee investigation.

Melanie Sloan, executive director of CREW, said today, "With soaring
gas prices, a housing market in crisis, rising unemployment, and a
nation at war, elected officials should be prioritizing their
constituents' needs over their own self-interests. Unfortunately, the
members of Congress listed in CREW's Most Corrupt report have decided
that their personal needs are paramount to those they represent. This
report holds them accountable for those choices."

The 20 most corrupt Members of Congress

Dishonorable mentions


FRIENDS: Help Us Fight

Independent journalism has become the last firewall against government and corporate lies. Yet, with frightening regularity, independent media sources are losing funding, closing down or being blacked out by Google and Facebook. Never before has independent media been more endangered. If you believe in Common Dreams, if you believe in people-powered independent media, please support us now and help us fight—with truths—against the lies that would smother our democracy. Please help keep Common Dreams alive and growing. Thank you. -- Craig Brown, Co-founder

Support Common DreamsSupport Common Dreams

Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW) is a non-profit legal watchdog group dedicated to holding public officials accountable for their actions.

Share This Article

More in: