For Immediate Release


Leonor Tomero 202.543.4100, ext. 2104

Council for a Livable World

Thirty Four Independent Experts and Organizations Send Letter to Congress Opposing US India Nuclear Deal

WASHINGTON - Thirty four independent experts
and organizations sent a letter to members of Congress today asking
them to resist pressure to rush toward approving the U.S.-India nuclear
agreement in its current form.

The full five page letter is available online.


If you think a better world is possible, support our people-powered media model today

The corporate media puts the interests of the 1% ahead of all of us. That's wrong. Our mission? To inform. To inspire. To ignite change for the common good.

If you believe the survival of independent media is vital to a healthy democracy, please step forward with a donation to nonprofit Common Dreams today:

High-profile signatories to the letter include nuclear weapons experts
such as Ambassador James Goodby, Ambassador George Bunn, Professor
Sidney Drell, Professor Frank von Hippel, former government official
Richard Garwin, former government official Morton Halperin, former
government official Jack Mendelsohn, and Ambassador Norman Wulf.

"Congress needs to actively support measures that would help address the numerous flaws and ambiguities in the nuclear deal,"
said Leonor Tomero, an expert on the U.S.-India agreement at the Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation.

The Bush administration submitted the agreement to Congress on
September 10. If approved, the agreement would allow nuclear trade with
India, reversing decades of non-proliferation policy. The Bush
administration is pushing for a congressional vote by the end of


This is the world we live in. This is the world we cover.

Because of people like you, another world is possible. There are many battles to be won, but we will battle them together—all of us. Common Dreams is not your normal news outlet. We don't survive on clicks. We don't want advertising dollars. We want the world to be a better place. But we can't do it alone. It doesn't work that way. We need you. If you can help today—because every gift of every size matters—please do. Without Your Support We Won't Exist.

Please select a donation method:

Founded by nuclear scientist Leo Szilard in 1962, Council for a Livable World provides Members of Congress with technical information and operates a Candidate Fund that helps elect candidates who support sensible national security policies. Visit the Council online at

Share This Article

More in: