The Progressive


A project of Common Dreams

For Immediate Release

Phone: 202-224-5323

Feingold To Chair Hearing On Restoring The Rule of Law


U.S. Senator Russ Feingold,
Chairman of the Constitution Subcommittee of the Senate Judiciary
Committee, will hold a hearing on Tuesday, September 16, on
"Restoring the Rule of Law." During the hearing, the Subcommittee
will hear testimony from legal and historical experts on what
steps the next president and the next Congress must take to
repair the damage done by the Bush Administration to the rule
of law. The hearing is an effort to provide the next president
with a full range of recommendations for reestablishing appropriate
checks and balances in a variety of areas, including warrantless
wiretapping, interrogation standards, detention policy, abuse
of executive privilege, excessive government secrecy, violations
of privacy and misleading Congress.

In addition to the testimony of the witnesses at the hearing,
Senator Feingold has solicited responses from a host of other
law professors, historians, advocates and other experts to
offer a blueprint to the next president and Congress for what
must be done, starting in January 2009, to reverse the previous
administration's abuses.

Senator Russ Feingold, Chairman, Constitution Subcommittee
of the Senate Judiciary Committee

What: Hearing on "Restoring the Rule of Law"

When: Tuesday, September 16th - 10:15 a.m.

Where: Hart Senate Office Building - Room


Walter Dellinger
Partner, O'Melveny & Myers, LLP
Visiting Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
Former Assistant Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel
Former Acting Solicitor General, (1996-1997)

Mickey Edwards
Board of Directors, The Constitution Project
Lecturer, Woodrow Wilson School of Public Policy, Princeton
Former Member of Congress (R-OK), 1977-1993

Harold Koh
Dean and Gerard C. & Bernice Latrobe Smith Professor of
International Law
Yale Law School

Elisa Massimino
Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director
Human Rights First

John D. Podesta
President and CEO, Center for American Progress Action Fund
Chief of Staff to President William J. Clinton, 1998-2001

Frederick A.O Schwarz Jr.
Senior Counsel
Brennan Center for Justice at New York University School of

Suzanne E. Spaulding
Bingham Consulting Group

Charles J. Cooper
Partner, Cooper & Kirk, PLLC

Patrick F. Philbin
Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Kyndra Rotunda
Visiting Assistant Professor of Law
Chapman University School of Law

Robert Turner
Professor, General Faculty
Associate Director, Center for National Security Law
University of Virginia School of Law

Written Testimony:

Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

Bill of
Rights Defense Committee
, Nancy Talanian, Executive Director

The Center
for Victims of Torture
, Douglas A. Johnson, Executive

Center for Strategic
and International Studies
(CSIS), Dr. Sarah E. Mendelson,

Citizens for
Responsibility and Ethics in Washington

Cause, Sarah Dufendach, Vice President for Legislative Affairs


Religious Campaign Against Torture
, Linda Gustitus, President,
and Rev. Richard Killmer, Executive Director

Security Archive
, Meredith Fuchs, General Counsel

Open the Government,
Patrice McDermott

The Rutherford
, John W. Whitehead

Joint Statement
of 20 legal scholars

, Federation of American Scientists

Alan B. Morrison,
Visiting Professor, Washington College of Law at American

(Sho Sato Professor of Law, University of California,
Berkeley) and Anne
Joseph O'Connell
(Assistant Professor of Law, University
of California, Berkeley)

Bruce Fein,
The Lichfield Group, Inc.

Lou Fisher,
Specialist in Constitutional Law, Law Library of the Library
of Congress

Amanda Frost
(Associate Professor Law, American University Washington College
of Law) and Justin Florence (Associate, O'Melveny & Myers,

The Honorable
Elizabeth Holtzman
, Former Congresswoman from New York,
1973 - 1981

Heidi Kitrosser,
Associate Professor, University of Minnesota Law School

Seth F. Kreimer,
Kenneth W. Gemmill Professor of Law, University of Pennsylvania
Law School

N. Pearlstein
, Visiting Scholar, Woodrow Wilson School
of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University

Peter M. Shane,
Jacob. E Davis and Jacob E. Davis II Chair in Law, Ohio State
University Moritz College of Law

R. Stone
, Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor,
The University of Chicago