Statement from Center for Democracy & Technology on January 18: Internet Freedom Day

For Immediate Release

Contact: 

Mark Stanley

Center for Democracy & Technology

202-407-8839

mark@cdt.org

Statement from Center for Democracy & Technology on January 18: Internet Freedom Day

WASHINGTON - The Center for Democracy & Technology joins other groups and individuals in the following statement.

Today, on the anniversary of the massive protests against the Internet censorship bills SOPA and PIPA, a broad network of individuals and organizations are joining to celebrate Internet Freedom Day. The website InternetFreedomDay.net lists a variety of actions in support of the open Internet, including a new tradition asking Internet users to share something they love that should never be censored.

The defeat of SOPA and PIPA was a watershed moment in our political history. Internet Freedom Day provides an opportunity not only to look back in commemoration, but also to raise awareness and remind lawmakers that the Internet-using public continues to pay close attention and take action to defend the Internet and free speech.

Our large and diverse community—which includes creators, innovators, advocates, and individuals from across the political spectrum—cares deeply about Internet freedom and will stand together to defend it.

Media Contacts:

Katherine Maher

AccessNow.org
katherine@accessnow.org

Mark Stanley

Center for Democracy & Technology
mark@cdt.org

202.407.8839

Ben Huh

Cheezburger, Inc.
ben@cheezburger.com

Heather Greenfield

Computer & Communications Industry Association
hgreenfield@ccianet.org

202.783.0070

Craig Newmark

craigconnects.org

Adi Kamdar

Electronic Frontier Foundation
adi@eff.org

Patrick Ruffini

Engage
patrick@engagedc.com

Joscelin Cooper

Engine Advocacy | Hattery
joscelinc@hattery.com

650.255.9233

Jennifer Mercurio

Entertainment Consumers Association
jenn@theeca.com

203.761.6191

Tiffiniy Cheng

Fight for the Future
press@fightforthefuture.org

413.367.6255

Josh Levy

Free Press
jlevy@freepress.net

413.585.1533 x208

Clara Hogan

New America Foundation’s Open Technology Institute
hogan@newamerica.net

202.596.3368

Andrew Rasiej

NY Tech Meetup and Personal Democracy Media
Andrew@dcn.com

917.359.2426

David Moore
Participatory Politics Foundation
david@ppolitics.org

917.753.3462

Bartees Cox

Public Knowledge
Bartees@publicknowledge.org

202.861.0020

Mike Masnick

Techdirt
mike@floor64.com

Berin Szoka

TechFreedom
bszoka@techfreedom.org

###

The Center for Democracy and Technology works to promote democratic values and constitutional liberties in the digital age. With expertise in law, technology, and policy, CDT seeks practical solutions to enhance free expression and privacy in global communications technologies. CDT is dedicated to building consensus among all parties interested in the future of the Internet and other new communications media.

Share This Article

More in: