National Organization for Women (NOW)

For Immediate Release


Mai Shiozaki, 202-628-8669, ext. 116; cell 202-641-1906

NOW Condemns Sen. Jim DeMint's Dangerous Comments on Gays and Sexually Active Single Women Unfit to Teach

WASHINGTON - The National Organization for Women is outraged by the ignorant,
homophobic comments Sen. Jim DeMint (R-S.C.) made on Friday at a
conservative church rally, saying gay people and unwed sexually active
women should not be teaching in public schools.

"Sexist bigots like Sen. Jim DeMint
don't belong in the United States Congress," said NOW President Terry
O'Neill. "He thinks gay women and men and sexually active single women
should be banned from teaching, but he said nothing about sexually
active, single straight men."

This is not the first time Sen.
DeMint stated his contempt for gays and women, having made a similar
comment made back in 2004. DeMint went on to tell supporters Friday he
would continue to recruit like-minded conservative leaders to run for

"NOW is re-doubling its efforts to
stop Sen. DeMint and his crowd from taking control of Congress. We
don't need people like him who lead from a place of ignorance and hate
-- we need leaders who will be committed to equality, fairness and
justice as they tackle the enormous challenges we face," said O'Neill.


This is the world we live in. This is the world we cover.

Because of people like you, another world is possible. There are many battles to be won, but we will battle them together—all of us. Common Dreams is not your normal news site. We don't survive on clicks. We don't want advertising dollars. We want the world to be a better place. But we can't do it alone. It doesn't work that way. We need you. If you can help today—because every gift of every size matters—please do. Without Your Support We Won't Exist.

Please select a donation method:

The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States. NOW has 500,000 contributing members and 550 chapters in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Share This Article

More in: