For Immediate Release

Organization Profile: 
Contact: 

Rob Sargent, Energy Program Director, (617) 747-4317, rsargent@environmentamerica.org

Our Experts on the Threat of Nuclear Energy in the United States

WASHINGTON - The events unfolding in Japan are drawing the attention of Americans to the dangers of nuclear power. Environment America has a long history of fighting the growth of nuclear power in the U.S. Over the years we have run several campaigns against nuclear facilities highlighting the environmental and public health dangers, the massive waste problem, and the costs and risks for taxpayers. In addition to our national efforts, our state groups have led the fight in several places to stop proposed nuclear plants and shut down old plants. Listed below are our foremost nuclear power experts at the federal and state levels. 

Our National Experts:

Rob Sargent, Energy Program Director, (617) 747-4317, rsargent@environmentamerica.org

Anna Aurilio, Director of the D.C. Office, (202) 683-1250, asquared@environmentamerica.org

Sean Garren, Clean Energy Advocate, (301) 541-8675, seang@environmentamerica.org

 

Experts in our state groups:

 

Vermont: Paul Burns, (802) 223-8421 ext. 4095, pburns@environmentamerica.org

Colorado: Pam Kiely, (303) 573-3871 ext.336, pkiely@environmentcolorado.org

California: Dan Jacobson, (916) 446-8062 ext. 105, djacobson@environmentcalifornia.org

Texas: Luke Metzger, (512) 479-0388, luke@environmenttexas.org

Minnesota: Ken Bradley, (612) 331-8404, kbradley@environmentminnesota.org

Illinois: Max Muller, (312) 291-0696 ext. 211, Max@environmentillinois.org
Wisconsin: Dan Kohler, (206) 568-2850 ext. 2001, dankohler@environmentamerica.org

North Carolina: Elizabeth Ouzts, (919) 833-0015, ext.107 elizabeth@environmentnorthcarolina.org

Maryland: Brad Heavner, (410) 467-0439, Bsh@environmentmaryland.org
New Jersey: Matt Elliot, (609) 392-5151 ext. 310, melliot@environmentnewjersey.org

Pennsylvania: Adam Garber, Field Director, (215) 732-5897, Agarber@pennenvironment.org

Connecticut: Christopher Phelps, (860) 231-8842, cphelps@environmentconnecticut.org

Massachusetts: Rob Sargent, (617) 747-4317, rsargent@environmentamerica.org

###

This is the world we live in. This is the world we cover.

Because of people like you, another world is possible. There are many battles to be won, but we will battle them together—all of us. Common Dreams is not your normal news site. We don't survive on clicks. We don't want advertising dollars. We want the world to be a better place. But we can't do it alone. It doesn't work that way. We need you. If you can help today—because every gift of every size matters—please do. Without Your Support We Simply Don't Exist.

Environment America is a federation of state-based, citizen-funded environmental advocacy organizations. Our professional staff in 27 states and Washington, D.C., combines independent research, practical ideas and tough-minded advocacy to overcome the opposition of powerful special interests and win real results for the environment. Environment America draws on 30 years of success in tackling environmental problems.

Share This Article

More in: