Published on
Common Dreams

Yoko Ono Awarded German Peace Prize

“Now is time for action and action is peace. Think peace, act peace, spread peace, and let’s make it all together.”

Andrea Germanos, staff writer

Yoko Ono speaking in Austin in 2011. (Photo: Earl McGehee/cc/flickr)

Yoko Ono was awarded a distinguished German peace prize on Thursday.

The Theodor Wanner Award, given by the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations since 2009, was presented to Ono in Berlin "for her lasting artistic and peace promoting political work."

Receiving the award, the 80-year-old artist, peace activist and widow of John Lennon said, “This prize is a message to me from you that what I’ve been doing was understood by you.”

“Now is time for action and action is peace. Think peace, act peace, spread peace, and let’s make it all together,” she said.

The 10,000-euro prize money is appropriated to a project chosen by the winner; Ono gave her winnings to Boniface Mwangi, an award-winning Kenyan photographer, activist and founder of Pawa254, an organization that brings journalists, artists and activists together to foster social change.

Previous winners of the award given "to those who significantly contribute or have contributed their scientific, social, socio-political, artistic, entrepreneurial or financial expertise to foster dialogue among cultures" include the conductor Daniel Barenboim and former judge at the International Criminal Court Carla del Ponte.


We know things are bad. We know it's worth the fight.

You are part of a strong and vibrant community of thinkers and doers who believe another world is possible. Alone we are weak. Together we can make a difference. At Common Dreams, we don't look away from the world—we are not afraid—our mission is to document those doing wrong and galvanize those doing good. But we can't do it alone. It doesn't work that way. We need you. We have now launched our annual Summer Campaign. Can you pitch in today?

Share This Article

More in: