The Progressive


A project of Common Dreams

For Immediate Release
Contact: Mai Shiozaki, 202-628-8669, ext. 116; cell 202-641-1906

NOW to Rally in Pitts' Pennsylvania District to Denounce Stupak-Pitts Amendment


"Once again, women's reproductive rights are under attack in this
country," said NOW President Terry O'Neill. "Anti-choice legislators
are using health care reform as an opportunity to further restrict
women's access to abortion. One such plunderer is Pennsylvania
Representative Joseph Pitts, who co-authored an amendment to deny
millions of women abortion coverage, and then when the Stupak-Pitts
Amendment passed, Pitts voted against the main bill anyway."

O'Neill continued: "Thanks in large part to Pitts' efforts, the
House's version of health care reform now stands as the greatest threat
to women's fundamental right to abortion in decades. That's why NOW and
our allies will protest on Representative Pitts' home turf this


Press Conference/Rally to Denounce Stupak-Pitts Amendment to House Health Care Bill


National Organization for Women
Pennsylvania NOW
Planned Parenthood Southeastern Pennsylvania


Terry O'Neill, NOW president
Joanne Tosti-Vasey, PA NOW president
Lois Herr, candidate for Congress in Pennsylvania's 16th District
Louise Williams, Lancaster City Council president
Others to be announced


Saturday, Nov. 21, 10:30 am - 11:30 am


Chester County Courthouse, 2 North High St., West Chester, Pa., 19380

"NOW is working overtime to ensure that an amendment similar to
Stupak-Pitts is not included in the Senate's version of health care
reform or the final bill," said O'Neill. "But it's also critical that
we send a message to those who initiated this attack: We will not go back and we will remember."

For more information on upcoming actions surrounding the Stupak-Pitts Amendment, click here.

The National Organization for Women (NOW) is the largest organization of feminist activists in the United States. NOW has 500,000 contributing members and 550 chapters in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.