For Immediate Release


Dave Maley
Office: (607) 274-1440

Park Center for Independent Media

Nominations Open for Second Annual 'Izzy Award' for Independent Media

ITHACA, N.Y. - Nominations for the 2009 Izzy Award are officially open.
The annual award for special achievement in independent media - named
after legendary muckraker I. F.
"Izzy" Stone
- is a project of the Park Center for Independent Media
at Ithaca College. Last year's inaugural award was shared by
blogger Glenn Greenwald and "Democracy Now!" host/executive producer
Amy Goodman.

"The award honors journalists who follow in the independent
footsteps of Izzy Stone," said Jeff Cohen, PCIM's founding director.
"Our 2008 Izzy winners, Glenn Greenwald and Amy Goodman, personify the
growing clout of independent media today in exposing government and
corporate misconduct, media bias and human rights violations."

For more information on the award, visit

In 1953, during the depths of the anti-communist witch hunts, Stone
launched "I. F. Stone's Weekly," through which he challenged official
deception, McCarthyism and racial bigotry. In 1999, a poll of prominent
journalists ranked the publication as number 16 among the "Top 100
Works of Journalism in the United States in the 20th Century." Stone
died in 1989.


The media landscape is changing fast

Our news team is changing too as we work hard to bring you the news that matters most.

Change is coming. And we've got it covered.

Please donate to our 2019 Mid-Year Campaign today.

I. F. Stone's son, Jeremy, participated in last year's award
ceremony in Ithaca. Days later, Greenwald and Goodman discussed the
award and the importance of independent media on the PBS television
program "Bill
Moyers Journal

Award winners are chosen by a panel of judges who have expertise in
independent media. As with last year, joining Cohen on the panel are
communications professor and author Robert W. McChesney, and Linda Jue,
director and executive editor at the G. W. Williams Center for
Independent Journalism. The winner will be announced and the award
bestowed in February or March.

This year's Izzy Award
will be given for work published, broadcast or posted in 2009 by an
independent media outlet, journalist or producer. The award may relate
to a single piece or a body of work. Journalists, academics and the
public at large - as well as the judges - may submit nominations by the
January 12, 2010, deadline.

Nominations should be submitted via a brief e-mail that includes
supporting Web links and/or attached materials to Brandy Hawley at Only if
e-mail is not possible, nominations can be mailed to Brandy Hawley,
Ithaca College, Park Center for Independent Media, 953 Danby Road,
Ithaca, NY 14850.


We want a more open and sharing world.

That's why our content is free. Free to read. Free to republish. Free to share. With no advertising. No paywalls. No selling of your data. How? Nonprofit. Independent. Reader-supported.

All of our original content is published under Creative Commons—allowing (and encouraging) our articles to be republished freely anywhere. In addition to the traffic and reach our content generates on our site, the multiplying impact of our work is huge and growing as our articles flourish across the Internet and are republished by other large and small online and print outlets around the world.

Several times a year we run brief campaigns to ask our readers to pitch in—and thousands of small donations fund our newsroom and allow us to continue publishing. Our 2019 Mid-Year Campaign is underway. Can you help? We can't do it without you.

Please select a donation method:

Launched in 2008, the Park Center for Independent Media is a national center for the study of media outlets that create and distribute content outside traditional corporate systems and news organizations. Located within Ithaca College's Roy H. Park School of Communications, the PCIM examines the impact of independent media institutions on journalism, democracy and a participatory culture.

Share This Article

More in: