Common Dreams NewsCenter

We Can't Do It Without You!

Home | About Us | Donate | Signup | Archives | Search

Home > Progressive Community > NewsWire > For Immediate Release
Printer Friendly Version E-Mail This Article
Institute for Policy Studies / Nuclear Information and Resource Service

JUNE 13, 2006
10:44 AM

CONTACT: Institute for Policy Studies / Nuclear Information and Resource Service
Emily Schwartz Greco; (202) 297-5412

Women Leaders Urge Negotiated Solution to U.S.-Iran Stalemate to Avert War

WASHINGTON - June 13 -

Jody Williams, Nobel Peace Laureate 1997, USA
Emira Woods, Co-Director of Foreign Policy In Focus at the Institute for Policy Studies

News conference on the current crisis between the U.S. and Iran, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Board of Governors meeting and outcomes from a recent dialogue between women Nobel Peace Prize Laureates and the IAEA.

Wednesday, June 14: 9:30 a.m.

WHERE: Murrow Room, National Press Club
529 14th Street, NW; Washington, DC 20045

Two women peace prize winners—Jody Williams from the United States and Shirin Ebadi from Iran — last week led a delegation of 10 civil society organizations from both countries. The organizations work on children’s rights, landmines, nuclear power, human rights, women and disarmament issues. They met with government representatives of the IAEA Board of Governors and IAEA officials. They also promoted greater exchange between Iranian and U.S. non-governmental organizations.

Woods, from IPS, was one of the participants in the trip as were delegates from the Nuclear Information and Resource Service, Feminist Majority Foundation, American Friends Service Committee, Global Fund for Women, Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom and Greenpeace International. Williams and Woods will be available to discuss the outcomes of these meetings at the press conference.

Ebadi and Williams belong to the Nobel Women’s Initiative, a new project of women Nobel Peace Prize Laureates that includes: Jody Williams (U.S. 1997), Shirin Ebadi (Iran, 2003), Wangari Maathai (Kenya, 2004), Rigoberta Menchu Tum (Guatemala, 1992) and Betty Williams (Ireland, 1976).

Williams was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of her work with the International Campaign to Ban Landmines to eliminate anti-personnel landmines. Ebadi, a lawyer, received the award for her tireless efforts to promote human rights, in particular, the rights of women, children, and political prisoners in Iran.


Printer Friendly Version E-Mail This Article
Common Dreams NewsCenter is a non-profit news service
providing breaking news and views for the Progressive Community.

The press release posted here has been provided to Common Dreams NewsWire by one of the many progressive organizations who make up America's Progressive Community. If you wish to comment on this press release or would like more information, please contact the organization directly.
*all times Eastern US (GMT-5:00)

Making News?
Read our Guidelines for Submitting News Releases is an Internet-based progressive news and grassroots activism organization, founded in 1997.
We are a nonprofit, progressive, independent and nonpartisan organization.

Home | About Us | Donate | Signup | Archives | Search

To inform. To inspire. To ignite change for the common good.