MARCH 10, 2006
1:21 PM

CONTACT:  WakeUpWalMart.com
Chris Kofinis, 202-486-6422

WakeUpWalMart.com Wins Prestigious Golden Dot Award For 'Best National Internet Campaign'; Team Now Multi-Year Recipients of Award

WASHINGTON - March 10 - In just its first year, WakeUpWalMart.com, America's campaign to change Wal-Mart, was awarded the prestigious 2006 Golden Dot award for "Best National Internet Campaign." The George Washington University's Institute for Politics, Democracy & the Internet (IPDI) presents the annual Golden Dot Awards for excellence in online campaigning and for outstanding achievement in the use of the Internet as a political tool.

"For too long, the American people have been at a disadvantage fighting back against multi-billion dollar corporations doing the wrong thing. The Internet and its grassroots organizing power, both online and offline, has changed everything. Now, ordinary people have the power to join together in unprecedented ways and numbers to change even the largest corporation in the world," said Paul Blank, campaign director for WakeUpWalMart.com. "On behalf of our 185,000 supporters, we are honored to receive such a prestigious award and we will continue to build the most powerful political movement ever to change Wal-Mart and change America."

In just 11 months, WakeUpWalMart.com has become one of the fastest growing grassroots movements in America with 185,000 supporters. The award is a testament to WakeUpWalMart.com's success in using the Internet to help create a national campaign to build public and political pressure on Wal-Mart to change into a responsible corporation.

WakeUpWalMart.com joins an exclusive club of campaigns to receive a Golden Dot award. Past recipients of the Golden Dot Award for "Best National Internet Campaign" include Bush-Cheney 2004 and Dean for America, and other award winners include Draft Wesley Clark, Meetup.com and JibJab.com. In fact, this represents the third Golden Dot award for the staff of WakeUpWalMart.com who served in leadership roles at both Dean for America and the Draft Clark Movement.