Campaign for America's Future

NOVEMBER 17, 2005
12:52 PM

CONTACT: Campaign for America's Future
Ron Eckstein, 202-955-5665

Indictment Doesn't Deter Lobbyists Hoping to Keep Favor with DeLay, Group Says;
DeLay Money Machine Represents HMOs, Pharmaceutical, Big Energy Industries

WASHINGTON - November 17 - Ethical lapses and a recent indictment on money laundering charges are not deterring a "Who's Who" of Republican lobbyists from hosting a huge fundraiser for former Majority Leader Tom DeLay tonight.

"Even a serious criminal indictment can't deter these Washington insiders from trying to buy even more influence with Tom DeLay," said Campaign for America's Future Deputy Director Ellen Miller. "But this is how business in Washington works for the powerful and well connected. Without shame, they show loyalty and buy influence by fundraising for lawmakers."

The 67 lobbyists listed as hosts for the event include:

-- Former Rep. Susan Molinari, whose clients include Exelon, America's largest utility holding company

-- Darren Wilcox, former senior policy adviser to Speaker Hastert, whose clients include PhARMA, the pharmaceutical company trade association

-- Mark Isakowitz, a confidant of House Majority Leader Roy Blunt, whose clients include energy companies and airlines seeking help in alleviating their obligation to pay pensions

According to an e-mail invitation distributed earlier this week, the host committee for tonight's DeLay fundraiser is:

Gary Andres, James J. Baker, Jim Barnett, Anthony Bedell, Wayne Berman, Tim Berry, David Bockorny, Jim Boland, Britton Clarke, Red Cavaney, Kirsten Chadwick, Mike Chappell, Roy Coffee, Chris W. Cox, Amy Jensen Cunniffe, J.D. Derderian, Robert Dotchin, Marcel Dubois, Gov. John Engler, Craig Felner, John Fish, Chris Giblin, Geof Gradler, Bruce Gates, Michael Hanson, Steve Hart, Ralph Hellmann, Mike Henry, Susan Hirschmann, David Hobbs, Mark Isakowitz, John Keliher, Tom Kuhn, Ed Kutler, Jennifer Lukawski, Kathryn Lehman, Glenn LeMunyon, Nelson Litterst, Jeff MacKinnon, Drew Maloney, Ann Meyer, Dan Meyer, Susan Molinari, Bill Morley, Jeff Munk, Bill Paxon, Tom Pyle, George Ramonas, Stuart Roy, Tim Rupli, Bob Rusbuldt, Bill Sarpalius, Rick Shelby, John Shelk, Bob Slaughter, Juli Sullivan, Edlu Thom, David Thompson, Carl Thorsen, Bill Timmons, Matt Trant, Mark Valente, Todd Walker, Robb Watters, Bruce Wilkinson, Darren Willcox, and Jim Whittinghill.

This event may be the single largest gathering of lobbyists ever to host a fundraiser for one member of Congress.