Coalition for the International Criminal Court
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
JULY 29, 2004
10:49 AM
CONTACT:  Coalition for the International Criminal Court
Sally Eberhardt 212-687-2863, ext. 17
 
International Criminal Court Announces the Launch of Formal Investigations in Uganda
 

NEW YORK - July 29 - WHAT: The Office of the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court (ICC) today announced the launch of formal investigations into the situation in Uganda. The Prosecutor’s Office will now look into allegations of crimes falling within the ICC’s jurisdiction (namely genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes), committed in the territory of Uganda since July 1, 2002 (the date of entry into force of the Rome Statute of the ICC).

WHEN: The opening of these investigations follows the referral of the situation in a letter signed by Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni that was submitted to the Office of Prosecutor in December 2003. Since then, the ICC Prosecutor, Luis Moreno Ocampo, has determined that there is a reasonable basis to open an investigation into the situation concerning Uganda.

HOW: In submitting this referral, President Museveni committed Uganda to cooperating with the Office of the Prosecutor in its investigations. A referral by an ICC State Party is one of three ways that a case can be brought to the ICC, in addition to a referral by the UN Security Council under its Chapter VII authority, or the proprio motu initiation of an investigation by the Prosecutor on the basis of information on crimes within the jurisdiction of the Court.

Below is a list of experts, who are also available for background information and comment:

Ms. Jeanne Sulzer,Fédération Internationale des Ligues des Droits de L’Homme-(FIDH) (Paris)

Tel: +33 1 43 55 11 56;

Email: jsulzer@fidh.org

Mr. John Stompor, Human Rights First

(New York City)

Tel: +1 212 845 5247;

Email: StomporJ@HumanRightsFirst.org

Mr. Richard Dicker, Director of the International Justice Program, Human Rights Watch (New York City)

Tel: + 1 212 216 1248;

Email: dickerr@hrw.org

Mr. Christopher Hall, Amnesty International Legal Adviser (London)

(July 30 onwards): +44 20 7413 5733

Email:chall@amnesty.org

Dr. David Donat Cattin, Parliamentarians for Global Action (Rome)

Tel.+39-333-166-0309;

Email: donat@pgaction.org

Dismas Nkunda, International Refugee Rights Initiative (New York/Uganda)

In Uganda after July 30: +256 78 31 04 04

Email: dismas.nkunda@refugee-rights.org

Alison Smith, Legal Counsel, No Peace Without Justice (Belgium)

Tel: +32 486 986 235

Email: alison@sensible.it

Pascal Kambale, International Justice Counsel, Human Rights Watch (Washington D.C.)

Tel: + 1 202 612 4363

Email: kambalp@hrw.org

 

###